LHS band takes half of lead roles at All-State Festival

Seven of 14 section leaders were chosen from Lowry High during the 2024 All-State Band Festival earlier this month. Those who were named section leaders included Samantha Snyder on clarinet, Madison Kuhn on alto saxophone, Shelby Lewis on tenor saxophone, Yovany Balderas on Baritone saxophone, Martin Dockter on trumpet, Keaton Kenison on trombone, Tanner Hatch on Tuba and Kalani Rodriguez on percussion. 

Participants for All-State were chosen from 9 high schools in Humboldt, Elko, Lander, Eureka, White Pine, and Lincoln counties. The band was directed by guest conductor Dr. Nate Seamons, Associate Director of bands at BYU. The band performed "Midnight Suite" by Brian Balmages, "After the Rain" by Matt Neufeld, "Sunchaser" by Carol Brittin Chambers, and "The Boom Boom Galop" by Randall Standridge.