Humboldt County School District recognizes exceptional staff

Humboldt County School District recognizes exceptional staff

Humboldt County School District recognizes exceptional staff

Recognizing the hard work and achievements of local school staff gives the Humboldt County School District (HCSD) an opportunity to give proper praise to those individuals that go the extra mile for their students. 

The annual HCSD Awards Night honored teachers and support staff that have been deemed teacher of the year, classified support person of the year and administrator of the year, as well as those that have been teaching or a part of support staff for 20 years or more. 

“Tonight gives us an opportunity to celebrate the impact that the staff has on the lives of the young men and women in Humboldt County,” said Humboldt County Superintendent, Dave Jensen. 

The event, with funding from the Nevada Mining Industry Foundation and the Humboldt County School District, offered school staff and their plus ones a noteworthy meal and special awards and gifts for their achievements. 

Having the resources to put on the event is an incredible victory, as well as the funds that the Mining Industry Foundation donates to the district and students. 

“We are so fortunate to have a partnership with the Mining Industry Foundation. They have made such a profound difference in the Humboldt County School District and in the lives of numerous Youth,” said Dr. Jensen. 

According to the President of the Mining Industry Foundation Board of Trustees, Don Dwyer, the initial program through the foundation consisted of the district staff appreciation dinner, scholarships for students, and an Academic Excellence Awards Ceremony. 

“Part of the Foundation’s mission is leaving a legacy of mining in Humboldt County, well after the mines exist,” said Dwyer. He added that the foundation has committed 145,000 dollars to the new Manufacturing and Technology Program at Lowry High School that will begin in the coming school year. 

Those recognized as certified teachers for 20 years were: Kristin Flanders, Rebecca Hill, and Anita Rolando.

Those recognized for 25 years as certified teachers were: Ronald Espinola, Jeffrey Setzer, and Michael Teichert.

Those recognized as support staff were:

Heather Corak for 20 years, Roxanne Chabot and Norma Perez for 25 years, Sharon Hoskins for 30 years, and Shirley Evans for 45 years. 

The 2022 Administrator of the Year was awarded to Lisa Carlson. Leslie Molina was recognized for 20 years of service as support staff and Raymond Parks was recognized for 30 years of service. 

The 2022 Teachers of the Year were:

Austin Mayo from Lowry High School, Hayley Bernardi from Winnemucca Junior High, Leslie Enochson from French Ford Middle School, James Gilboy from Grass Valley Elementary School, Denise Barton from Sonoma Heights Elementary School, Rachael Foster from Winnemucca Grammar School, Paul Merkel from McDermitt, and Darla Goodwell from the rural schools.

The 2022 Classified Staff of the Year were:

Marilu Saldate from Lowry, Susan Montero from the Junior High, Letty Rodriguez from French Ford, Olga Mejia from Grass Valley, Maria Rodriguez from Sonoma Heights, Kelly Pearce from Grammar School, Marcy Northrup from McDermitt, and Dawn Jinzo from the rural schools.