Battle Mountain track and field team competes in Spring Creek

The Battle Mountain High School track and field team was in Elko County this past Saturday for the Spring Creek League Meet that featured 1A, 2A and 3A schools.

Ben Disbro won the shot put on the day with a personal-best throw of 41 feet, 4 inches.

Disbro was sixth in the discus with a toss of 106-.10.

The 4x100 relay team placed third with a time of 49.75 seconds and Aydan Samuelson was seventh in the shot put with a toss of 35-10.5.

Sean Bengoa earned points for the Longhonrs, placing eighth in the high junp, clearing the bar at 5-2.

Spring Creek won the team title on the boys side with 233.5 points. Elko (142), Lowry (132), Eureka (33) and Battle Mountain (21.5) completed the top five.

On the girls side, Jolena Ayers was second in the 800 meters at 2:37 for a personal best, fourth in the 100-meter dash in a time of 13.59 and the junior was fourth in the triple jump with a mark of 31-1.5.

Junior Jennifer Galvin was seventh in the 1,600 meters with a time of 7:05.31 for a personal best and the 4x100 relay team was third in a time of 1:00.68.

Spring Creek took home the team title with 223 points and Elko was second at 120. Eureka (85), Lowry (72) and Wells (45) rounded out the top five. McDermitt was eighth with 14 points

Battle Mountain will be at Wooster High School on Saturday,