Stoker named Northern 3A Most Valuable Player

Stoker named Northern 3A Most Valuable Player

Stoker named Northern 3A Most Valuable Player

Lowry High School sophomore Savanah Stoker was named the Northern 3A Most Valuable Player by the league’s basketball coaches.

Stoker led the state of Nevada in scoring this year at nearly 23 points per game. Her 648 points this season were the 12th most in state history for a single season according to the NIAA record book. She also averaged 9.2 rebounds a game. In addition, she was named to the 3A all-state first team.

Teammates Emily Backus and McKenzi Petersen joined Stoker on the Northern 3A all-league, first team. Backus averaged 12.3 points a game, while Petersen averaged 7.6 points and 7.4 rebounds a game.

Backus was also named to the 3A all-state, first team and Petersen was chosen for the 3A all-state, second team.

Lowry head coach Jesse Zamudio was selected as the Northern 3A and 3A State Coach of the Year. The Lady Bucks finished the season at 27-3 and closed the year with a 19-game winning streak. Lowry defeated Spring Creek 52-29 for the 3A state title, the seventh in school history. The seven titles are tied for four most in Nevada history.

Rounding out the Northern 3A first team was South Tahoe’s Ivy Gonzalez, Spring Creek’s Shyann Lamb, Fernley’s Jaelece Wasson and Elko’s Aurora Eklund.

The 3A all-state team included Stoker, Backus, Gonzalez, Lamb, Pahrump Valley’s Tayla Wombaker and Kailani Martinez and Moapa Valley’s Emma Humes and Sydney Reese.

Lowry’s Jovi Kuskie and Hannah Whitted were named to the Northern 3A second team. That group included Wooster’s Isabella Cavigila, Spring Creek’s Payge Walz, Churchill County’s Cassie Edgmon and Truckee’s Ryan Flynn.

The Northern 3A honorable mention team was rounded out by Elko’s Peyton Jacaway and Johanna Rivera, South Tahoe’s Alexi Haven and Kiva Davis, North Valleys’ Cristina Corral and Hailey Calderon-Martinez, Spring Creek’s Ella Buzzetti, Dayton’s Hallie Peterson, Hug’s Alex Pacheco, Truckee’s Ashley Estabrook, Fernley’s Tia Otuafi and Churchill County’s Zoey Jarrett.