Primary election ends some races, sets field for upcoming General

Primary election ends some races, sets field for upcoming General

Primary election ends some races, sets field for upcoming General

Several races were decided after the closed primary election and in Humboldt County, the elections were canvassed during a special meeting of Humboldt County commissioners June 20.  

Humboldt County

In the race for Seat C of the Humboldt County Commission, incumbent Ron Cerri won his seat with 58.58% (1,485) of the vote and challenger Drew Jenkins at 32.15% (815). Scott McColgan saw 235 votes, or 9.27%. There were no Democratic challengers.

For Seat  E, victor Mark Evatz gathered 32.73% of votes (837) while Lyndsee Jimenez was close behind at 775 votes (30.31%). Kris Stewart garnered 360 votes, Michael Owens 434, and Lorne Lyon 151. There were no Democratic challengers.

For Humboldt County District Attorney, candidate Massey Mayo-Case won 68.76% of the registered Democrat votes (350) while Illyssa Fogel gathered 159 votes (31.24%). Mayo-Case will face off against Kevin Pasquale in the general election later this year. 

For Humboldt County Clerk, incumbent Tami Rae Spero won 69.81% of the vote (1,783), while challenger Leanne Robertson garnered 771 votes (30.19%). There were no Democratic challengers.

Tia Lange narrowly beat Bailey Burhans for the role of County Recorder with  1,322 votes (52.36%). Burhans received 1,203 votes, at 47.64%. There were no Democratic challengers.

For Humboldt County Sheriff — a non-partisan race (all parties may vote in the primary regardless of affiliation) — Angel Cardenas secured a win with 2,099 (56.67%) votes. Andy Rorex received 1,199 votes (32.37%), and Victor Castaneda received 406 votes. 

For Humboldt County School Board, Sabrina Uhlmann took 100% of the votes for Seat A, Lonnie Hammargren took 100% of the votes for Seat F, Nicole Bengochea took 100% of the votes for Seat G. 

For Humboldt General Hospital Board of Trustees, Michelle Miller took 100% of the votes for Seat E. 

According to the Secretary of State website, there are 9,474 registered voters in Humboldt County; 3,735 voted in the Primary Election (39.42%) with 1,168 voting on election day, 993 voting early, and 1,574 responding by mail. Turnout in 2022 was significantly less than the last two elections; the 2020 general election saw a 88.75% turnout while the 2020 primary saw a 48.49% turnout.

Active voter registration increased this year from 7,502 in 2020 to 9,474 in 2022.

Lander County

For Lander County Commission District 2, Mike Chopp won 33.59% of  the vote (399) and Shannon Hanks won 19.02% (226). Art Clark III garnered 223 votes, Joe Lindsey 175 and Monte Price 165. 

For Lander County District Attorney, William Schaeffer gathered 642 votes (55.25%, and Theodore Herrera received 520 votes (44.75%). 

For Lander County Recorder, Alexis Reiva won 731 votes (62.16%), Peggy Surla 285 votes and Tina Marie Bisiaux 160.

The Lander County School District Board of Trustees Area One saw a tie between Mitch Domagala and Manuel Villanueva, who each received 766 votes (21.38%). Jayson Cutler received 490, Cayla Millsap 483, Bert Ramos 394, Sean Bakker 354 and Becky Spring 329.

For Area Three, Holland James won with 38.52% (545 votes) and Douglas Staton III received 372 votes. Kylee Nelson got 272 and Michael Miller 226. 

Lander County saw a 41.19% voter turnout with 1,466 out of 3,559 registered voters participating in the primary. Rolls have increased a bit since 2020; active voters in the primary two years ago stood at 3,185 and increased to 3,319 for the 2020 general. 

For more information on the upcoming General Election, more results from the recent Primary Election (including state and county results for state races), visit