Pershing County players earn all-state honors

On the strength of winning a second consecutive 2A state championship, the Pershing County High School football team was well rewarded in the all-state postseason awards.

Jorge Rosas was named the Lineman of the Year, while Dave McLean was chosen as the Coach of the Year. McLean retired from coaching after beating Battle Mountain in the state championship.

Battle Mountain’s Reese Artz was named the MVP and teammate Gabe Naveran was the Offensive MVP. Battle Mountain’s Eric Martinez and Needles’ Doogie Harvey shared the Defensive MVP honors.

The all state offense first team included quarterback Jayden Yeager (Needles), running backs Jayce Leyva (Pershing County), Noah Smith (Lincoln County) and Marcus Turner (Needles) and wide receivers Mason Fuller (Battle Mountain), Trey Tsosie (Needles) and Eric Correa (West Wendover). The tight end was Pershing County’s Owen Bake.

The offensive line was comprised of Cesar Tovar (Battle Mountain), Eric Martinez (Battle Mountain), Mathew Finlenson (Lincoln County), Jess Pierce (Needles), Axel Gonzalez (Pershing County) and Davis Murphy (Pershing County.

Pershing County’s Erick Franco earned kicking honors and Lincoln County’s Landon Smith was the return specialist.

The all-state first team defense include defensive backs Landon Smith (Lincoln County), Lane Condie (Pershing County), Jesus Valdez (Yerington) and Lupin Gomez (Pershing County. Gilman Jenkins (Needles), Ben Plimpton (Pershing County), Degan McClary (Battle Mountain) and Joaquin Wanner (Pershing County) comprised the linebacker group.  

The defensive line included Jess Pierce (Needles), John Perez (Needles), Cesar Tovar (Battle Mountain), Mason Chopp (Battle Mountain), Martin Cholico (Pershing County) and Axel Gonzalez (Pershing County).

Battle Mountain’s Mason Fuller was named the first-team punter.

Pershing County’s Derek Sandusky was named the second-team quarterback, while Lane Condie earned running back honors.