McDermitt takes home rural basketball titles

McDermitt takes home rural basketball titles

McDermitt takes home rural basketball titles

The rural basketball season came to a close on Saturday, March 5.  

In Division I, McDermitt took home the championship trophy. Notably the all-tourney MVP, Alexis Scott came from the Bulldogs’ team. 

Also markedly, Treal Scott was recognized for his sportsmanship throughout the day as well as the season.  

The Division I all-tourney team was composed of both Alexis and Treal Scott, Cayden Crutcher, Orovada’s Robert DePaoli and Keigin Cordeiro, and Paradise’s Cooper Hoagland who played for Orovada in the final two games of the season.  

The final results for Division I for the season were as follows:  McDermitt champions, 2. Orovada, 3. Kings River, 4. Paradise. 

For Division II McDermitt also took home the championship trophy.  The all-tourney team for Division II was composed of MVP Legacy Scott, Chasen Wilkinson, and Ethan Alexander from McDermitt, along with Sam Bayles, Brynlee Hoagland, and Lilyana Sam from Paradise.  Therefore, Paradise Valley took second, and Orovada ended up third for the 2022 season in Division II.

Each team recognized their individual MVPs and MIPs:

Division I 

• McDermitt: Niyla Willow MIP, Kiarra Crutcher MVP

• Orovada: Keigin Cordeiro MIP, Robert DePaoli MVP 

• Kings River: Ainsley Velasco MIP, Cody Allen MVP

• Paradise Valley: Travis Kelsey MIP, TyAnn Kern MVP

Division II 

• McDermitt: Chasen Wilkinson MIP, Isabella York MVP

• Orovada: Addysen Edwards MIP, Zoey Weagant MVP

• Paradise: Demaris Sam MIP, Ben Bales MVP

Coaches were recognized for their volunteer efforts along with sportsmanship and contributions throughout the season.  Thank you to the referees, bus drivers, teachers, parents, and communities as well.  

Your contributions and support of these young athletes is so important and valued.